Standardization

It is no longer necessary to take up the cudgels for a standardization project for technical information. Everyone is convinced that the fight for survival in the information overload jungle can only be won with systematic development and the cross-media reuse of standardized information.

The focus of information standardization is on determining suitable rules that are defined in writing in an authoring guideline. The authoring guideline here comprises all aspects of authoring, from the rules of rule-based authoring up to publication in accordance with a target group-oriented media concept.

p>A coordinated terminology management ensures the consistent usage of your technical terms. This provides comprehensibility and reduces translation costs. authoring guidelines and terminology management provide an important basis for using authoring assistance tools.

Authoring guidelines

An authoring guideline is an internal company standard. It regulates the consistency and quality of the product documentation and allows it to be produced economically.

Nowadays, most companies have authoring guidelines that contain common rules for comprehensible and translation-oriented documentation. Nevertheless, it is observable that the quality of documentation does not meet the standard. Frequent causes are:

  • The rules are not found or not understood.
  • The guideline is not adapted to the working method and the information requirements of the authoring department.
  • The basic rules do not take the requirements of the target group into account.

When an authoring guideline is developed, the product-related, legal and standard-related requirements as well as corporate requirements for the documentation to be created have to be taken into account, in addition to the working method and the information requirements of the target group. This is all taken into account by the procedure model for the development of an authoring guideline according to functional design.

It begins with the detailed analysis of the normative and target group-oriented requirements for the product documentation. These requirements are used to derive the communication needs: Who needs what information and how do they have to be addressed? The writing and structuring rules are limited and tailored to the communicative needs and designated and classified according to their communicative function (example: "action prompt" prompts the reader to perform an action). The structure of the guideline follows the sequence in which content is created in the authoring department. Due to clear names for the rules, directories and links, it offers alternative entry points at the same time and thus provides optimum support to information developers in the authoring process.

Rule-based and translation-oriented authoring

Rule-based and translation-oriented authoring refers to collections of writing rules whose compilation has a particular focus, for example the verifiability of rules in an authoring assistance tool or the reduction of translator queries.

Such collections can be integrated in a comprehensive authoring guideline for the Technical Documentation department or apply as basic rules throughout the company.

We determine the focus of your writing rules together with you. We check existing documents for rules that are already implicitly used. For your writing rules we use existing rule collections such as the tekom guideline on rule-based writing or simplified English.

As a result of our work on the tekom guideline for rule-based writing and our many years of experience, you will profit from extensive background knowledge of the origin, purpose and hurdles when using individual writing rules or entire rule sets. You will achieve a consistent image with your information products and increase the efficiency in particular authoring processes.

Authoring assistance tools

The term "authoring assistance" has become established in technical communication especially for software that helps users to select desired sentences and words.

In order to select a suitable authoring assistance tool, we first determine the area of application of the tool. Together with you, we select the relevant rules of your authoring guideline or create machine-verifiable rules for you. We support you in the tool selection and the implementation of the desired rules, and we plan the productive use of the tool with you.

Your advantage

  • Simplified and reliable updating of rules
  • Integration of entire sets of rules in the writing process
  • Optimum support of employees who only write occasionally

Media concept

The media concept describes the optimum implementation of the customer's information needs in information products and media.

Information products are compilations of information for a particular purpose and in particular media such as static texts, interactive contents, graphics, design drawings, animations and videos and can be optimally displayed and used on target platforms such as smartphones, tablet PC's and virtual devices. Technical documentation is printed less and less. Electronic production and distribution in different types of media is the rule. Each type of media has its own advantages and disadvantages and has to be produced according to its own requirements. In addition, the different media must interact optimally and be perceived by the users as a coherent overall concept.

The media-independent structuring method functional design allows all information needs to be precisely covered in the correspondingly suitable medium or in a suitable media combination. We consistently follow the information needs of the target groups and avoid expensive media production that is not in accordance with needs.

Terminology management

Terminology management defines, organizes and distributes the vocabulary on which your corporate language is based.

To put it in other words – what is praised at school and is usual in politics frequently leads to misunderstandings and increased translation costs in day-to-day business. The collection, analysis and revision of the existing terminology forms the basis of a consistent corporate language that not only reduces costs and avoids misunderstandings but also leads to recognizability in the market.

Since terminology is a company-wide topic, it is not only necessary to create a coordinated basic stock of terminology but above all to establish responsibility and sustainable processes that lead to accepted language rules.

On the basis of your existing information, we determine the currently used terminology. Together with you, we uncover synonyms and other ambiguities and determine your preferred terms. We design a process with which you can supplement and manage your terminology. If necessary, we suggest tools that allow you to make optimum use of the terminology at your company.

Your advantage

  • Reduction of translation costs
  • Avoidance of misunderstandings in internal and external communication
  • Competitive advantage through the reduction of response times in customer service

Downloads

download

Authoring Assistance in Technical Communication

› download PDF 552 KB
› download english version PDF 552 KB

download

Funktionsdesign-Broschüre

› download PDF 110 KB

download

Variants found, variants banned

› download PDF 405 KB
› download english version PDF 405 KB

download

Standardisieren in 10 Wochen – wer sagt eigentlich, dass ein Funktionsdesign® zu entwickeln lange dauert?

› download PDF 368 KB

Standardisierung

Für ein Standardisierungsvorhaben technischer Informationen muss man heute keine Lanze mehr brechen. Jeder ist davon überzeugt, dass der Überlebenskampf im Überinformationsdschungel nur mit systematischer Entwicklung und medienübergreifender Wiederverwendung standardisierter Informationen gewonnen werden kann.

Im Mittelpunkt der Informationsstandardisierung steht das Festlegen geeigneter Regeln, schriftlich definiert in einem Redaktionsleitfaden. Der Redaktionsleitfaden umfasst dabei alle Aspekte der Redaktion, von den Regeln des regelbasierten Schreibens bis zur Publikation gemäß eines zielgruppenorientierten Medienkonzepts.

Ein abgestimmtes Terminologiemanagement stellt die konsistente Verwendung Ihrer Fachbegriffe sicher. Dies sorgt für Verständlichkeit und senkt Übersetzungskosten. Redaktionsleitfaden und Terminologiemanagement bilden wichtige Grundlagen für den Einsatz von Authoring-Assistance-Tools.

Redaktionsleitfaden

Ein Redaktionsleitfaden ist ein unternehmensinterner Standard. Er regelt die Konsistenz und Qualität der Produktdokumentation und ermöglicht deren ökonomische Erstellung.

Die meisten Unternehmen haben heute Redaktionsleitfäden, die gängige Regeln für verständliche und übersetzungsgerechte Dokumentation enthalten. Dennoch kann man beobachten, dass die Qualität der Dokumentation dem Standard nicht gerecht wird. Häufige Ursachen sind:

  • Die Regeln werden nicht gefunden oder nicht verstanden.
  • Der Leitfaden ist nicht auf die Arbeitsweise und den Informationsbedarf der Redaktion abgestimmt.
  • Das Regelwerk berücksichtigt nicht die Anforderungen der Zielgruppen.

Bei der Entwicklung eines Redaktionsleitfadens müssen sowohl die produktseitigen, rechtlich-normativen und unternehmensseitigen Anforderungen an die zu erstellenden Dokumentationen berücksichtigt werden, als auch die Arbeitsweisen und der Informationsbedarf der Zielgruppe. Dies berücksichtigt das Vorgehensmodell für die Entwicklung eines Redaktionsleitfadens nach Funktionsdesign®.

Am Anfang steht die ausführliche Analyse der normativen und zielgruppenbezogenen Anforderungen an die Produktdokumentation. Aus diesen Anforderungen wird der kommunikative Bedarf ermittelt: Wer benötigt welche Information und wie muss er angesprochen werden? Die Schreib- und Strukturierungsregeln werden auf den kommunikativen Bedarf begrenzt und zugeschnitten und nach ihrer kommunikativen Funktion benannt (Beispiel: "Handlungsaufforderung" fordert die Leserin und den Leser zu einer Handlung auf) und gegliedert. Die Struktur des Leitfadens folgt dem Ablauf der Inhaltserstellung in der Redaktion. Durch klare Benennungen der Regeln, Verzeichnisse und Verlinkungen bietet er gleichzeitig alternative Einstiegspunkte und sorgt so für eine optimale Unterstützung der Informationsentwickler im Redaktionsprozess.

Regelbasiertes und übersetzungsgerechtes Schreiben

Mit regelbasiertem und übersetzungsgerechtem Schreiben werden Sammlungen von Schreibregeln bezeichnet, deren Zusammenstellung einen bestimmten Fokus hat, z. B. die Prüfbarkeit von Regeln in einem Authoring- Assistance-Tool oder die Verringerung von Übersetzerrückfragen.

Solche Sammlungen können in einen umfassenden Redaktionsleitfaden für die Technische Redaktion integriert sein oder als Basisregeln unternehmensweit gelten.

Gemeinsam mit Ihnen legen wir den Fokus Ihrer Schreibregeln fest. Wir prüfen bestehende Dokumente auf bereits implizit angewendete Regeln. Für Ihre Schreibregeln nutzen wir bestehende Regelsammlungen, z. B. tekom-Leitlinie Regelbasiertes Schreiben oder Simplified English.

Durch unsere Mitarbeit an der tekom-Leitlinie Regelbasiertes Schreiben und unsere langjährige Erfahrung profitieren Sie von umfassendem Hintergrundwissen über Entstehung, Einsatzzweck und Hürden beim Einsatz von einzelnen Schreibregeln oder ganzen Regelsätzen. Sie erreichen mit Ihren Informationsprodukten eine konsistente Außenwirkung und erhöhen die Effizienz in bestimmten redaktionellen Prozessen.

Authoring-Assistance-Tools

Die Bezeichnung Authoring Assistance hat sich in der technischen Kommunikation vor allem durchgesetzt für Software, die Anwender bei der Auswahl von erwünschten Sätzen und Wörtern unterstützt.

Um ein geeignetes Authoring-Assistance-Tool auszuwählen, bestimmen wir zunächst das Einsatzgebiet des Tools. Wir wählen mit Ihnen die relevanten Regeln Ihres Redaktionsleitfadens aus oder erstellen maschinell prüfbare Regeln für Sie. Wir begleiten Toolauswahl und Implementierung der gewünschten Regeln und planen mit Ihnen den produktiven Einsatz des Tools.

Ihr Vorteil

  • Erleichterte und gesicherte Aktualisierung von Regeln
  • Integration ganzer Regelwerke in den Schreibprozess
  • Optimale Unterstützung von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, die nur gelegentlich schreiben

Medienkonzept

Das Medienkonzept beschreibt die optimale Umsetzung der kundenseitigen Informationsbedarfe in Informationsprodukte und Medien.

Informationsprodukte sind Zusammenstellungen von Informationen für einen bestimmten Zweck und in bestimmten Medien wie statische Texte, interaktive Inhalte, Grafiken, Konstruktionszeichnungen, Animationen und Videos und können auf Zielplattformen wie Smartphones, Tablet-PCs und Virtual Devices optimal dargestellt und benutzt werden. Technische Dokumentation wird immer seltener gedruckt. Die elektronische Erstellung und Verteilung in verschiedenen Medientypen ist die Regel. Jeder Medientyp hat eigene Vor- und Nachteile und muss entsprechend seinen eigenen Erfordernissen produziert werden. Darüber hinaus müssen die unterschiedlichen Medien optimal zusammenwirken und von Anwendern als ein schlüssiges Gesamtkonzept wahrgenommen werden.

Die medienunabhängige Strukturierungsmethode Funktionsdesign® erlaubt die präzise Abdeckung aller Informationsbedarfe in dem jeweils geeigneten Medium oder den geeigneten Medienkombinationen. Dabei knüpfen wir konsequent am Informationsbedarf der Zielgruppen an und vermeiden kostspielige Medienproduktionen am Bedarf vorbei.

Terminologiemanagement

Terminologiemanagement ermittelt, organisiert und verteilt den Wortschatz, der Ihrer Unternehmenssprache zugrunde liegt.

Dasselbe mit anderen Worten sagen – was in der Schule gelobt wurde und in der Politik üblich ist, führt im Unternehmensalltag immer wieder zu Missverständnissen und erhöhten Übersetzungskosten. Die Sammlung, Analyse und Bereinigung des bestehenden Wortschatzes bildet die Grundlage einer konsistenten Unternehmenssprache, die nicht nur Kosten reduziert und Missverständnisse vermeidet, sondern auch zu einer Wiedererkennbarkeit am Markt führt.

Weil Terminologie ein unternehmensweites Thema ist, müssen neben einem abgestimmten Grundbestand an Terminologie vor allem Verantwortungen und tragfähige Prozesse etabliert werden, die zu akzeptierten Sprachregelungen führen.

Auf Basis Ihrer bestehenden Informationen ermitteln wir den aktuell verwendeten Wortschatz. Mit Ihnen gemeinsam decken wir Synonyme und andere Uneindeutigkeiten auf und bestimmen Ihre bevorzugten Begriffe. Wir gestalten einen Prozess, mit dem Sie Ihre Terminologie ergänzen und verwalten können. Bei Bedarf schlagen wir Werkzeuge vor, mit denen Sie die Terminologie optimal in Ihrem Unternehmen nutzbar machen.

Ihr Vorteil

  • Senkung von Übersetzungskosten
  • Vermeidung von Missverständnissen in der internen und externen Kommunikation
  • Wettbewerbsvorteil durch die Verringerung von Responsezeiten im Kundenservice

Downloads

download

Authoring Assistance in der technischen Kommunikation

› download PDF 713 KB
› download english version PDF 552 KB

download

Funktionsdesign-Broschüre

› download PDF 110 KB

download

Variante erkannt, Variante gebannt

› download PDF 2 MB
› download english version PDF 405 KB

download

Standardisieren in 10 Wochen – wer sagt eigentlich, dass ein Funktionsdesign® zu entwickeln lange dauert?

› download PDF 368 KB