Legal compliance

Technical information - instructions, warning signs, as well as training documents or product information on the Internet - has to meet minimum legal standards.

For example, the EU Machinery Directive requires that operating instructions and sales brochures be consistent. Especially companies that are active in the USA should be aware of the importance of consistent representation of information in respect to liability risks. The management and fulfillment of these legal requirements demands experience and structured procedures.

Different knowledge levels of employees and unclear responsibilities are often the reason for unclear information processes. As a result, the legal compliance of the technical documentation and information is not ensured. Liability cases and handicaps to trade are only the tip of an iceberg of customer complaints, costs due to rework, goodwill and contractual penalties.

A common understanding of the legal requirements, clarified responsibilities, and clear rules are the most important prerequisites for legally compliant action.

Based on an analysis of the need for action, clear and effective processes can be developed and the necessary tools introduced. For information development, the question of the legally required information quality is central. This basically results from the target groups of the information. Necessary steps are:

  • Clarification of entrepreneurial risks, fields of activity and people involved
  • Legal research and standards research
  • Target group analysis
  • Risk assessment
  • Compilation of requirements (requirements management)
  • Analysis of existing documentation based on requirements and assessment of the need for action
  • Training and sensitization
  • Implementation and standardization of measures for legally compliant information
  • Optimization of information processes, interlinkage of information development with product development, risk assessment and quality assurance
  • Implementation of rules, processes and tools

Our many years of experience in the field of law and standards, in testing and certification of documentation and in participating in standardization is the basis for the correct interpretation of standards.

For central documentation standards, we have comprehensive, current and proven catalogs of requirements that we supplement in individual cases. We have experience in numerous industries such as machinery and plant engineering, medical products, automotive or equipment engineering.

Risk assessment

A risk assessment considers the risks caused by a product and determines measures to reduce them. It is not only a central step in the CE conformity assessment procedure but also basically necessary from the perspective of project liability. A special challenge is presented by the risks that can result from the foreseeable behavior of users (§3 ProdSG).

Graphic for the risk graph

You have developed a technically safe product and are now faced with the question of what user-related residual risks there are.

Minimizing the design risks of products is a familiar area in product development. Less well-known, however, are the methods for determining and estimating the risks of user-related product utilization and "human factors". The measures to be derived range from constructive protection measures and the determination of the performance levels (PL according to 13849-1) or safety integrity levels (SIL according to EN 61508-5) up to suitable warning messages with the correct warning levels according to EN 82079-1 and ANSI Z535.

Risk assessment is team work and therefore requires a clear and simple method. Our preferred method is FMEA (Failure Mode and Effects Analysis), which is oriented to the user process. The method can be connected to the risk graphs for PL/SIL. This procedure is especially suited as a final risk analysis and for determining the residual risks for constructive protection measures and warning messages.

For this purpose, we process the user-related lifecycle of the products and the foreseeable risks related to individual activities in a detailed manner. An analysis of the target groups and activities provides the required information on likely users.

We coordinate the process and introduce the method to all those involved. In a joint workshop with your knowledge carriers from the development, application and authoring departments, we methodically guideline you through the risk assessment using a specific current project. In doing so, we name and assess the risks and formulate specific measures for risk reduction. This not only produces a risk assessment but establishes the necessary methodical knowledge at the company.

Safety instructions

"Safety chapters" in instructions have the unpleasant characteristic of growing uncontrollably: The desire for "legal cover" leads to long and barely comprehensible instructions and thereby ends up creating legal risks that are to be avoided. The solution is to consistently pursue the principle of comprehensibility.

Safety instructions are often legal protection texts. These texts are often difficult to understand. A didactic preparation is therefore essential for this type of text, in order to make it easier to understand and remember the information.

Based on pertinent standards such as ANSI Z535.6 regarding safety information in instructions and IEC 82079-1 "Preparation of instructions", we define rules for the structure, design and formulation of safety instructions. The procedure corresponds to the functional design standardization method and can be seamlessly integrated in corresponding standardization projects.

A qualitative analysis of the existing safety instructions – we use the problem topology method for this purpose –, the existence of a meaningful risk assessment with statements on the target groups as well as legal and standards research are important prerequisites for optimizing safety instructions.

In workshops with correspondingly authorized authors and, if needed, the product safety officer, we develop rules, structure and texts as part of a guideline. A central objective here is to develop corresponding skills in the company.

This results not only in example texts but in the formulation of basic rules and principles as well. This procedure has proven itself time and again. For example, we have developed a guideline and corresponding templates for safety instructions in the area of agricultural technology together with the German Association of Machine and Plant Builders (VDMA).

Product liability in the USA

The US market is characterized, among other things, by high product liability risks that result from the particularities of the legal system, the structure of the labor market and the safety expectations of users. A suitable package of measures significantly reduces the liability risks. Indicative safety plays an especially important role here.

Companies are faced with great uncertainty in the US market because the risks are difficult to calculate. In addition to design and production risks, the risks especially include so-called instruction risks; these are risks that result from erroneous information. Information is already considered erroneous when it is not understood by the users.

Economic logic demands low complexity: reducing market-specific procedures to a minimum and designing standards and processes so that the requirements of the US market can be efficiently covered. In particular, instructions should not be completely reinvented for the US market; a "parallel world" of information is not only expensive but also creates additional liability risks through inconsistent information in the markets.

In order to reduce the instruction risks, the quality of all information must meet sufficiently high requirements. This is the only way to ensure the comprehensibility and thus the effectiveness of information and instructions. The US market can thus in a sense become a catalyst for high-quality information.

The necessary measures concern the design of information as well as the basic internal information processes. The tasks for improving information quality are the same as for all information management projects: the systematic analysis and optimization of information, standardization and process optimization.

Proven methods such as problem topology, functional design, modularization or training are used for this purpose. However, the main emphases must be set specially for the US market, depending on the product.

We have additionally compiled everything that you should know specifically about measures for the US market in our list of measures.

Information development is as global as the companies that require the information. We supplement our many years of experience in developing information concepts for globally active companies with the expertise of law firms, engineering offices and testing institutions in the USA. In the VDMA, we regularly hold a highly regarded expert forum on US law.

Downloads

download

(Wie) kann man mit der IEC 82079-1 Anwenderfreundlichkeit erreichen? (tekom 2013)

› download PDF 2 MB

download

White Paper Problem Typology

› download PDF 248 KB
› download english version PDF 248 KB

Latest Downloads

Rechtskonformität

Technische Informationen - Anleitungen, Warnschilder, aber auch Schulungsunterlagen oder Produktinformationen im Internet - müssen rechtlichen Mindestanforderungen genügen.

Beispielsweise fordert die EG-Maschinenrichtlinie die Widerspruchsfreiheit von Betriebsanleitungen und Verkaufsprospekten. Besonders Unternehmen, die in den USA aktiv sind, sollten um die haftungsrechtliche Bedeutung konsistenter Informationsdarstellungen wissen. Das Management und die Erfüllung dieser rechtlichen Anforderungen erfordern Erfahrung und strukturierte Vorgehensweisen.

Unterschiedliche Wissensvoraussetzungen bei den Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern und unklare Verantwortungen sind häufig die Ursache für unklare Informationsprozesse. Dadurch ist die Rechtskonformität der technischen Dokumentationen und Informationen nicht sichergestellt. Haftungsfälle und Handelshemmnisse sind nur die Spitze eines Eisbergs von Kundenreklamationen, Kosten durch Nacharbeiten, Kulanzen und Vertragsstrafen.

Ein gemeinsames Verständnis der rechtlichen Anforderungen, geklärte Verantwortungen und klare Regeln sind die wesentlichen Voraussetzungen für rechtskonformes Handeln.

Aufbauend auf einer Analyse des Handlungsbedarfs können klare und wirksame Prozesse entwickelt und die erforderlichen Werkzeuge eingeführt werden. Für die Informationsentwicklung steht dabei die Frage nach der rechtlich erforderlichen Informationsqualität im Mittelpunkt. Diese ergibt sich wesentlich aus den Zielgruppen der Informationen. Nötige Schritte sind:

  • Klärung der unternehmerischen Risiken, Handlungsfelder und Beteiligten
  • Rechtsrecherche und Normenrecherche
  • Zielgruppenanalyse
  • Risikobeurteilung
  • Zusammenstellen der Anforderungen (Anforderungsmanagement)
  • Analyse bestehender Dokumentationen anhand der Anforderungen und Bewertung des Handlungsbedarfs
  • Schulung und Sensibilisierung
  • Umsetzung und Standardisierung von Maßnahmen für rechtskonforme Informationen
  • Optimieren der Informationsprozesse, Verzahnung der Informationsentwicklung mit der Produktentwicklung, Risikobeurteilung und Qualitätssicherung
  • Implementierung der Regeln, Prozesse und Werkzeuge

Unsere jahrelange Erfahrung im Rechts- und Normenbereich, bei der Prüfung und Zertifizierung von Dokumentationen und die Mitwirkung in der Normung ist die Grundlage für die korrekte Normeninterpretation.

Für die zentralen Dokumentationsnormen verfügen wir über umfassende, aktuelle und erprobte Anforderungskataloge, die wir im Einzelfall ergänzen. Erfahrungen bestehen in zahlreichen Branchen wie  Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, Medizinprodukte, Automotive oder Gerätebau.

Risikobeurteilung

Eine Risikobeurteilung betrachtet die Gefahren, die von einem Produkt ausgehen und ermittelt Maßnahmen zur Minderung dieser Gefahren. Sie ist nicht nur ein zentraler Schritt des CE-Konformitätsbewertungsverfahrens, sondern auch grundsätzlich aus Sicht der Produkthaftung geboten. Eine besondere Herausforderung sind dabei die Risiken, die sich aus dem vorhersehbaren Verhalten von Anwenderinnen und Anwender ergeben können (§3 ProdSG).

Grafik zum Risikograph

Sie haben ein technisch sicheres Produkt entwickelt und stehen nun vor der Frage, welche anwenderbezogenen Restrisiken sich ergeben.

Die konstruktiven Risiken der Produkte zu minimieren ist ein vertrautes Gebiet einer Produktentwicklung. Wenig bekannt sind hingegen die Methoden, die Risiken der anwenderseitigen Produktnutzung und der "Human Factors" zu ermitteln und einzuschätzen. Die abzuleitenden Maßnahmen reichen von konstruktiven Schutzmaßnahmen und der Festlegung der Performance Levels (PL nach ISO 13849-1) oder Safety Integrity Levels (SIL nach EN 61508-5) bis zu geeigneten Warnhinweisen mit den passenden Warnstufen nach EN 82079-1 und ANSI Z535.

Risikobeurteilung ist Teamarbeit, und bedarf darum einer klaren und einfachen Methode. Unsere bevorzugte Methode ist die FMEA (Failure Mode and Effects Analysis), die sich am Anwenderprozess orientiert. Die Methode lässt sich mit den Risikographen für PL/SIL verbinden. Dieses Vorgehen ist als abschließende Gefahrenanalyse und zur Ermittlung der Restrisiken für konstruktive Schutzmaßnahmen und Warnhinweise besonders geeignet.

Dabei bearbeiten wir detailliert den anwenderbezogenen Lebenszyklus der Produkte und die vorhersehbaren Risiken, die mit einzelnen Tätigkeiten verbunden sind. Eine Zielgruppen- und Tätigkeitsanalyse sorgt für das erforderliche Wissen über die voraussichtlichen Anwenderinnen und Anwender.

Wir stimmen das Vorgehen ab und führen alle Beteiligten in die Methode ein. In einem gemeinsamen Workshop mit Ihren Wissensträgern aus Entwicklung, Anwendung und Redaktion führen wir methodisch durch die Risikobeurteilung anhand eines konkreten, aktuellen Projekts. Dabei benennen und bewerten wir die Risiken und formulieren die konkreten Maßnahmen zur Risikominderung. Es entsteht nicht nur eine Risikobeurteilung, sondern das erforderliche methodische Wissen wird im Unternehmen aufgebaut.

Sicherheitshinweise

"Sicherheitskapitel" in Anleitungen haben die unangenehme Eigenschaft unkontrolliert zu wachsen: Der Wunsch nach "rechtlicher Absicherung" führt zu langen und kaum verständlichen Hinweisen und erzeugt damit rechtliche Risiken, die eigentlich vermieden werden sollten. Der Ausweg führt über konsequente Verfolgung des Verständlichkeitsprinzips.

Sicherheitshinweise sind häufig juristisch geprägte Absicherungstexte. Nicht selten sind diese Texte schwer verständlich. Dabei ist für diese Textsorte eine didaktische Aufbereitung wesentlich, welche die Behaltensleistung fördert.

Ausgehend von einschlägigen Standards wie der ANSI Z535.6 über Sicherheitshinweise in Anleitungen und der IEC 82079-1 "Erstellen von Anleitungen" legen wir Regeln für die Gliederung, Gestaltung und Formulierung von Sicherheitshinweisen fest. Das Vorgehen entspricht dabei der Standardisierungsmethode Funktionsdesign® und fügt sich nahtlos in entsprechende Standardisierungsprojekte ein.

Eine qualitative Analyse der bestehenden Sicherheitshinweise – wir nutzen dazu die Methode Problemtypologie –, das Vorliegen einer aussagekräftigen Risikobeurteilung mit Aussagen zu den Zielgruppen und eine Rechts- und Normenrecherche sind wichtige Voraussetzungen für die Optimierung von Sicherheitshinweisen.

In Workshops mit entsprechend beauftragten Redakteurinnen und Redakteuren und bei Bedarf der Produktsicherheitsbeauftragten entwickeln wir Regeln, Struktur und Texte als Teil eines Leitfadens. Der Aufbau der entsprechenden Kompetenz im Unternehmen ist dabei ein zentrales Anliegen.

Als Ergebnis liegen nicht nur exemplarische Texte vor, sondern auch die formulierten zugrundeliegenden Regeln und Prinzipien. Das Vorgehen ist vielfach bewährt. So haben wir gemeinsam mit dem VDMA (Verband Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagenbau e.V.) im Bereich Landtechnik einen Leitfaden und entsprechende Textvorlagen für Sicherheitshinweise entwickelt.

Produkthaftung USA

Der US-Markt ist unter anderem durch hohe Produkthaftungsrisiken geprägt, die sich aus den Besonderheiten des Rechtssystems, der Struktur des Arbeitsmarktes und den Sicherheitserwartungen von Anwenderinnen und Anwendern ergeben. Ein passendes Maßnahmenbündel senkt die Haftungsrisiken signifikant. Die hinweisende Sicherheit spielt dabei eine besonders große Rolle.

Die Unsicherheit von Unternehmen im US-Markt ist groß, weil die Risiken schwer einschätzbar sind. Diese Risiken sind neben den Konstruktions- und Produktionsrisiken insbesondere die sogenannten Instruktionsrisiken; das sind Risiken, die sich aus fehlerhaften Informationen ergeben. Dabei gilt eine Information bereits als fehlerhaft, wenn sie von zu erwartenden Anwenderinnen und Anwendern nicht verstanden wird.

Die ökonomische Vernunft verlangt geringe Komplexität: marktspezifische Vorgehensweisen auf ein Mindestmaß reduzieren und die Standards und Prozesse derart zu gestalten, dass die Anforderungen des US-Markts effizient abgedeckt werden können. Insbesondere sollten Anleitungen für den US-Markt nicht komplett neu erfunden werden; eine "Parallelwelt" von Informationen ist nicht nur kostspielig, sondern erzeugt auch zusätzliche Haftungsrisiken durch inkonsistente Informationen in den Märkten.

Um die Instruktionsrisiken zu senken, muss die Qualität aller Informationen hinreichend hohe Anforderungen erfüllen. Nur so kann die Verständlichkeit und damit die Wirksamkeit der Informationen und Anleitungen sichergestellt werden. So kann der US-Markt gewissermaßen zum Katalysator für eine hohe Informationsqualität werden.

Die erforderlichen Maßnahmen beziehen sich sowohl auf die Gestaltung der Informationen und als auch auf die zugrundeliegenden, internen Informationsprozesse. Die Aufgaben, um die Infomationsqualität zu heben, sind dieselben wie für alle Projekte des Informationsmanagements: systematische Analyse und Optimierung der Informationen, Standardisierung und Prozessoptimierung.

Damit kommen die bewährten Methoden wie Problemtypologie, Funktionsdesign®, Modularisierung oder Schulung zum Einsatz. Die Schwerpunkte müssen jedoch abhängig vom Produkt für den US-Markt speziell gesetzt werden.

Was Sie speziell über die Maßnahmen im US-Markt wissen sollten, haben wir darüber hinaus in unserer Maßnahmenliste für Sie zusammengestellt.

Informationsentwicklung ist so global wie die Unternehmen, die diese Informationen benötigen. Unsere langjährige Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von Informationskonzepten für global tätige Unternehmen ergänzen wir durch die Expertise von Anwaltskanzleien, Ingenieurbüros und Prüfhäusern in den USA. Im VDMA gestalten wir regelmäßig das gefragte Expertenforum zum US-Recht.

Downloads

download

(Wie) kann man mit der IEC 82079-1 Anwenderfreundlichkeit erreichen? (tekom 2013)

› download PDF 2 MB

download

Problemtypologie für Spezialisten

› download PDF 257 KB
› download english version PDF 248 KB

Neueste Downloads